Government Agencies
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
- -HazDat Hazardous substances release/health effects database.
- -ToxFAQs Summaries about hazardous substances.
- Argonne National Library - Environmental Assessment Division
- CDC Environmental Health Center for Disease Control's information on environmental health conditions such as asthma, lead poisoning, asbestos exposure, cruise ship sanitation, etc.
- Earth Observatory NASA site focusing on earth's climate and environmental changes.
- Environmental Management Technical Center Provides data on the Upper Mississippi River system.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- Chemical Substance Factsheets Data on toxicity and OSHA safety limits for chemicals, elements, compounds.
- CLU-IN Hazardous Waste Clean-Up Information.
- Envirofacts Data Warehouse Search multiple EPA databases.
- -Climate Change
- -Great Lakes Pollution Prevention and Toxics Reduction
- -Indoor Air Quality
- -Methane Outreach Program
- -Ozone
- -Solid Waste
- -Water
- U.S. Department of Energy
- - Transportation Energy Data Book
- U.S. Department of the Interior
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
- Water Resources of the United States From the U.S. Geological Survey. Includes a link to the National Water Quality Assessment Program.
- Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Industry Sources
- American Petroleum Institute
- Chemical Industry Home Page National Environmental Information Service.
- Global Recycling Network
- Green Hotels Association
- Haute*Nature A blog about sustainable design in various disciplines, including construction, furniture and fashion.
- American Chemistry Council Plastics resources.
- Sustainable Design Information Center American Society of Interior Designers.
- Sustainable Travel International
- United States Green Building Council Coalition of building industry leaders providing information about sustainability practices in the construction field.
National Organizations
- Alliance for Climate Protection
- American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy
- American Rivers Nonprofit organization of river activists.
- Audobon Society Conservation organization focusing on birds and other wildlife.
- Center for Applied Biodiversity Science
- Clean Water Network
- Eathwatch Institute Promotes conservation of natural resources through partnerships between scientists, educators, and the general public.
- Environmental Defense Fund
- Chemical Scorecard From the Environmental Defense Fund, identifies pollution sources by community and provides information on chemicals.
- National Environmental Directory Organizations categorized by subject area.
- Environmental Working Group Non-partisan environmental investigations and reports. Click on Issue Areas.
- Food Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Includes sub pages on forestry and sustainable development.
- Forest Conservation Portal From Forests.org, Inc.
- Global Green USA US affiliate of the Green Cross International.
- Global Invasive Species Programme To address global threats caused by invasive alien species.
- Green Schools Initiative Parent organization that advocates for healthy school environments.
- Greenpeace Activists environmental organization.
- Information Center for the Environment Cooperative effort of environmental scientists; environmental working group; research on health and the environment.
- Invasive Species Initiative Sponsored by The Nature Conservancy.
- Isaak Walton League of America
- League of Conservation Voters National Environmental Scorecard; voting records of members of the Senate and House as well as state legislators; good descriptions of bills.
- Midwest Environmental Advocates
- National Council for Science and the Environment Includes reports from the Congressional Research Service.
- National Wildlife Federation Conservation group supporting preservation of wildlife and wild places.
- National Resources Defense Council Lists current issues and campaigns of a major environmental protection activist group.
- Nature Conservancy International conservation group working to protect land and water worldwide.
- Pew Center on Global Climate Change
- Sierra Club Grassroots advocacy environmental organization
- State Environmental Resource Center Researches state environmental policies and legislation.
- United Nations Environmental Programme
- World Resources Institute Environmental think tank.
Professional Associations
- American Chemical Society Includes full text access to ACS journals.

- Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) Independent professional group that provides a forum on environmental issues.
- Union Concerned Scientists Citizen and scientist activist group.
- Water Quality Association International trade association representing the household, commercial, industry, and small community water treatment industry.
Wisconsin Organizations
- 1000 Friends of Wisconsin
- Clean Water Action Council of Northeastern Wisconsin
- Clean Wisconsin Environmental advocacy organization.
- Energy Center of Wisconsin
- Renew Wisconsin Promotes clean and sustainable energy strategies for Wisconsin.
- River Alliance of Wisconsin Nonprofit group advocating protection of Wisconsin's rivers and watersheds.
- Travel Green Wisconsin Organization that assists tourism business to minimize their environmental impact.
- University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee - Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management Provides links to regulatory agencies, university health and safety sites, union safety sites, Material Safety Data Sheets, etc.
- Wisconsin Association of Lakes
- Wisconsin Runoff Info Provides information and resources to help local governments and farmers effectively manage polluted runoff from agricultural practices, storm water drainage and nonpoint sources in Wisconsin.
- Wisconsin Stewardship Network Bipartisan coalition of over 100 conservation and sports groups who advocate for Wisconsin's environmental preservation.
- WISPIRG Wisconsin Public Research Interest Research Group.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait