Dictionaries and Thesauri
For more specialized dictionaries go to the library's Dictionaries and Thesauri page.
- Acronym Finder
- ARTFL Project: Roget's Thesaurus
- Bartleby.com Selected full text of reference sources, verse, fiction, and nonfiction anthologies.
- Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
- Cliche Finder
- Credo Reference Provides full text general and specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries.

- Glossary of Poetic Terms
- In Other Words: A Lexicon of the Humanities Includes the Glossary of the Humanities.
- Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary and thesaurus.
- Newbury House Dictionary of American English
- OED: Oxford English Dictionary

- One Look Dictionaries
- Online Etymology Dictionary Word histories.
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Rhymezone Rhyming Dictionary
- Synonym Dictionary
- Web of Online Dictionaries
- Word Detective
- YourDictionary.com Links to specialized dictionaries.
At the Library
Examples of print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:
- Chicago Manual of Style REF Z253 .U69
- Contemporary Authors REF CT220 .C62x
- Contemporary Literary Criticism REF PN771 .C59
- Encyclopedia of Rhetoric REF PN172 .E52 2001
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism REF PN81 .J554
- New Oxford American Dictionary REF PE1628 .M36
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait