Technical Communication
- EServer TC Library Iowa State University; indexes peer-reviewed scholarly work and practitioners' resources.
- Online Technical Writing Online textbook.
- Resoures for Technical Writers Extensive collection of links on technical writing.
- Society for Technical Communication
- Technical Communication Information sources From John December.
- Technical Communication Resources From the UW-Stout Department of English and Philosophy.
- Technical Report Writing From NASA's Glenn Technical Library.
- Writer's Write: Technical Writing
Journalism
- American Press Institute (API)
- ASNE: American Society of Newspaper Editors Also contains a section on Credibility.
- The American Project
- The Association of American Editorial Cartoonists (AAEC)
- BusinessJournalism.org
- Committee to Protect Journalists Nonprofit, nonpartisan organization promoting press freedom worldwide.
- Editorial Cartoons: The Impact and Issues of an Evolving Craft From Nieman Reports.
- The First Amendment Handbook
- FreePress nonprofit organization advocating free press and media reform.
- The Freedom Forum Online
- Frontline World PBS television news program.
- Institution for War and Peace Reporting
- International News Safety Institute
- John F. Kennedy School of Government: News
- Journalism.org: Research, Resources, and Ideas to Improve Journalism
- A Journalist's Guide to the Internet
- The Journalist's Toolbox: Online Resources for Reporters and Editors
- Newslink
- OJR (Online Journalism Review) E-Journal.
- Online Communication Studies Resources From the University of Iowa, links to online resources covering the field of mass communication including journalism.
- Poynter Online Everything you need to be a better journalist.
- Public Agenda Online
- Pulitzer Prize
- Resources on the Internet for Business Journalists Set of links.
- Science Communication Network
- Sixbillion.org Online magazine of narrative journalism.
- U-Wire
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
- The Write News
Writing Resources
- 100 Useful Web Tools for Writers
- Critical Reading Guide Brock University.
- David and Lorraine Cheng Library: Evaluating Articles
- Handbook of Rhetorical Devices
- Literature: What Makes a Good Short Story? Offers explanations of literary elements: plot development, point of view, character, setting, and theme.
- Nuts and Bolts Guide of College Writing From Michael Harvey of Washington College.
- Paradigm Online Writing Assistant Online writer's guide and handbook.
- Poe War Includes information on technical writing, articles, employment, writing associations, etc.
- Poetry Magic Resource center for theory and craft of writing poetry.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab, OWL
- Renesselaer Virtual Writing Center Handouts
- Rhetoric and Composition
- Synthesis: Using the Work of Others Techniques to avoid plagiarism.
- Writer's Digest
- Writers Workshop From the University of Illinois, click on the Writer Resources link.
- Writing@CSU Writing guides from Colorado State University.
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:
- American Directory of Writer's Guidelines REF PN147 .A4792
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Curriculum and Methods REF Z286.E3 C32
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration REF Z286.E3 C323
- Cabells' Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Technology and Library Science REf Z286.E3 C33
- Children's Writer's and Illustrator's Market REF PN147.5 .C48
- International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses REF PN4878.3 .I67
- International Literary Market Place REF PN161 .I57x
- Literary Market Place REF PN161 .L52
- Poet's Market REFPN1059.M3 P59
- Writer's Market REF PN161 .W83
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait