Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Engineering
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Business Source Premier
- Environment Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Science Reference Center
- Engineering Village 2: Compendex
- Emerald Library
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Business and Industry
- Business and Management Practices
- IEEE Explore (partially funded by the Rakstis Endowment)
- Search Intute
- Knovel Library (select Search Knovel)
- LexisNexis
- Business Instructions
- Legal Instructions
- CSA Illumina: Paperbase/Pira Collection
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform Instructions
- Web of Science: Science Citation Index Expanded
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Business Full Text
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile
- ACS Journals Select the American Chemical Society link
- Physics Journals (Institute of Physics)
- Recent Advances in Manufacturing (RAM) Searchable citation/abstract database to articles in over 500 periodicals
- Ei Thesaurus REF Z695.1.E5 E37
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- ADAM- Advanced Design and Manufacturing
- American Machinist
- Advanced Manufacturing
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Search the full text of the American Chemical Society's journals, including the four titles below specifically on engineering. Click on the Journals and Magazines after selecting the ACS link.

- Assembly Magazine
- Control Engineering
- Engineering Online
- enr.com
- Finishing Today Trends and Technologies for Coatings Professionals.
- Industrial Technology
- Industry Week
- Journal of Engineering Mechanics
- Journal of Industrial Technology From the National Association of Industrial Technology.
- Machine Design.com
- Maintenance World
- Managing Automation
- Manufacturing Engineering From SME.
- Manufacturing.net
- The Manufacturing Report
- Modern Machine Shop
- Pollution Engineering
- Quality
- Sensors Online Sensors Magazine.
- Tooling and Production
- e4engineering.com
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- American Machinist
- ASEE Prism (American Society for Engineering Education)
- Assembly
- Automotive Design & Production
- Chemical and Engineering News
- Civil Engineering
- Consulting-Specifying Engineer
- ENR
- Engineer
- Foundry Management & Technology
- Industrial Engineer
- InTech
- JOM (Journal of Metals)
- Journal of Engineering Education
- Journal of Engineering Materials and Technology
- Journal of Manufacturing Science and Engineering
- Journal of Manufacturing Systems
- Journal of Quality Technology
- Machine Design
- Manufacturing Engineering
- Material Handling Management
- Materials Performance
- Modern Machine Shop
- Modern Materials Handling
- Plant Engineering
- Plating and Surface Finishing
- Power Engineering
- Quality Magazine
- R&D Magazine
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
2/2/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait