Job Descriptions
To identify the specific tasks required by a job, find a description of the job. These sources, among others, will help.
- Career Voyages job descriptions and potential growth jobs from the US Depts. of Labor and Education.
- Dictionary of Occupational Titles Index (DOT).
- Job Profiles The personal side of work.
- O*Net
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH).
- Wisconsin Civil Service Classified Specifications
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library.
- 175 Best Jobs Not Behind a Desk REF HF5382.5.U5 F364
- Almanac of American Employers REF HF5382.75.U6 A45
- America's Top 100 Jobs for People Without a Four Year Degree REF HF5382.75.U6 K716
- America's Top 101 Jobs for College Graduates REF HD6278.U5 A64
- Best Jobs for the 21st Century REF HF5381.15 .F37
- Career Opportunities in the [name of industry] Do a title search ending with "in the" There are many books in this series.
- Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) REF HB2581 .U55 Definitions of over 20,000 job titles arranged by occupational group. Indexed alphabetically by title and industry
- ONET Dictionary of Occupational Titles REF HB2595 .O16
- Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance REF HF5381 .E52
- Enhanced Occupational Outlook Handbook REF HF5382.U6 E55
- Exploring Tech Careers REF T65.3 .E95
- Guide for Occupational Exploration REF HF5382.5.U5 G83
- Job Descriptions for the Private Club Industry REF TX911.3.J65 J63
- Jobs Rated Almanac REF HF5382.5.U5 K72
- Occupation and Training Handbook REF HF5382.5.W6 O33 Similar to OOH but for Wisconsin
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) REF HF5381 .U62x Information about employment trends and outlook for occupations. Includes nature of work, qualifications, earnings, and working conditions
- Peterson's Job Opportunities: Engineering and Computer Science REF TA157 .P48
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait