Educational Opportunities
Some occupations require specialized training and/or education. The following sources may help you determine where to acquire these qualifications.
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library.
-
College Blue Book REF LA226 .C685
- Vol. 3 - Degrees attainable listed by subject area
- Vol. 1 - Descriptions of colleges and universities
- Vol. 4 - Occupational schools listed by state and by program of instruction
- Vol. 6 - Distance Learning Programs
- College Majors and Careers REF HF5382.5.U5 P445
- College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs REF HF5382.5.U5 F664
- Guide to Distance Learning Programs REF LC5805 .P48
- MBA Programs REF HF1131 .P4
- Peterson's Four Year Colleges REF L901 .P463
- Peterson's Two-Year Colleges REF L901 .P462
- Smithsonian Opportunities for Research and Study in History, Art, Science REF Q11.S8 S86
- Colleges and Universities University Library Subject Guide.
- Petersons.com
- Testing and Education Reference Center From Peterson's; access thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships, and take on-line practice tests.

- Technical Schools USA
Internships
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library.
- Directory of International Internships REF LC1072.I58 D57
- Internship Bible REF LC1072.I58 I46
- Peterson's Internships REF L901 .I66
License Requirements
Many jobs require a state or federal license or certification or registration of an individual.
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library.
- Certification and Accreditation Programs Directory REF HD3630.U6 C47x
- Liscenced Occupations Database From Career One-Stop. Search by state, occupation or agency.
Geographical Sources
For many job applicants, location is a key factor in determining whether to take an offered position. On the Web, use Google to search for the name of your city or town. Many have home pages.
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library.
- 50 Best Small Southern Towns REF HQ1063 .S94
- ACCRA Cost of Living Index REF HD6983 .A573x
- Almanac of the 50 States REF HA203 .A5
- American Tally REF HA202.122 .A47
- America's Top-Rated Cities REF HT123 .A669
- America's Top-Rated Smaller Cities REF HT123 .A6692
- Book of the States REF JK2403 .B6
- Cities Ranked and Rated REF HT123 .S64
- Comparative Guide to American Suburbs REF HA203 .C66
- Craighead's International Business Travel and Relocation Guide . . . REF HF5549.5.E45 D56
- Encyclopedia of World Cities REF HT108.5 .N47
- Lifestyle Market Analyst REF HF5415.33.U6 L54
- State Rankings REF HA203 .U17
Local chambers of commerce can provide extensive information about a particular town or city. Write to them at addresses identified in the World Chamber of Commerce Directory REF HF294 .W64x
- CityTownInfo.com Basic city stats; includes home ownership and mortgage info.
- ERSys.com Includes data on about 1300 cities.
- Sperling's Best Places
- US Hometown Locator community profiles.
- USA Citylink For travel or relocation.
- Yahoo!: Local City Guides.
Industry Information
An industry's financial stability is a good indicator of its future job markets. See the following sources for information about manufacturing, wholesale, retail, and service industries.
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library.
- Career Guide to America's Top Industries REF HF5382.5.U5 C27x
- Encyclopedia of American Industries REF HC102 .E53
- Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys REF HG4961 .S675x
- Hoover's Company Records via Proquest.

- Plunkett Research Online Full text access to industry almanacs including trends, analysis, statistics and profiles of leading companies.

Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait