Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Artlex Art Dictionary
- Credo Reference Has 14 art and design encyclopedias and dictionaries, including the Bridgeman Art Library Archive.

- Oxford Art Online Formerly Grove Dictionary of Art.

- Symbols.com
- Textile Dictionary (On the left column).
- Visual Dictionary Online From Merriam-Webster, access to over 6,000 images.
Directories
Use directories to supply names and addresses of persons and companies.
- Artist Info Contemporary art database.
- Design Directory Includes companies, designers, organizations.
- Fashion Designers List From Fashion Windows.
- Guru.com The world's largest online marketplace for freelance talent.
- Yahoo!: Arts: Museums, Galleries and Centers.
- Yahoo!: Design Companies
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:
- Design Chronicles REF NK1390 .G36
- Design Encyclopedia REF NK1370 .B93
- Designer's Lexicon REF T385 .C26x
- Dictionary of Art REF N31 .D5
- Dictionary of 20th - Century Design REF NK1390 .P53
- Dictionary of Modern Design REF NK1165 .W66
- Elements of Design REF NK750 .E48
- Elements of Style REF NA2850 .E445
- Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture REF NA680 .E495
- Encyclopedia of Animated Cartoons REF NC1766.U5 L46
- Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography REF N7560 .E63x
- Encyclopedia of Furniture REF NK2205 .Y38
- Encyclopedia of Interior Design REF NK1165 .E48
- Fairchild Dictionary of Interior Design REF NK1165 .P43
- Gadgets and Necessities: an Encyclopedia of Household Innovations REF TX298 .W43
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts REF NK28 .G76
- Industrial Design A-Z REF TS171 .F54
- Logo REF NC1002.L63 E93
- Look of the Century REF TS171 .T35
- Style Sourcebook REF NK1705 .M56
- Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Design SInce 1900 REF NK1390 .J85
- Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th Century Design REF NK1165 .J84x
- World Encyclopedia of Comics REF PN6710 .W6
- World Guide to Logotypes, Emblems and Trademarks REF NC1002.L63 W67x
Directories
- Almanac of Architecture and Design REF NA9 .A27
- Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market REF N8600 .A76
- Building Design and Construction PERIODICALS COLLECTION July issue lists 300 top companies
- Directory of Industrial Designers (IDSA) REF TS171.A1 I64
- ENR (Engineering News Record) PERIODICALS COLLECTION
- April issue -Top 500 Design Firms
- May issue - Top 400 Contractors
- June issue - Top 500 Design Firms Sourcebook
- Graphic Designers Ultimate Resource Directory REF NC999 .E825
- Opportunities in Commercial Art and Graphic Design Careers REF NC1001.6 .G68
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait