Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
- Computer Almanac Interesting and useful numbers about computers.
- Access Science McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology on the web.

- C net Internet glossary.
- Computers for Beginners Glossary.
- Credo Reference Has several computer dictionaries in the Technology section.

- Educypedia
- NetLingo
- TechEncyclopedia from TechWeb.
- Webopaedia
- Whatis.com
Directories and Company Sites
Directories and buying guides provide names and addresses of businesses and/or individuals.
- Baber.com Computer Directory a wide variety of available computer and electronic equipment.
- Company Contact Information
- Computing Vendors online Comprehensive listing.
- Information Week Business Technology Network a site for marketing resources and news.
- Internet 4 Free lists and ratings of free Internet service providers.
- Plunkett Research Online

- COMPUTER COMPANY WWW SITES
- 3Com
- Apple
- Cisco
- Compaq Computer
- Dell Computer
- Firefox
- Gateway
- Hewlett Packard
- IBM
- Intel
- Microsoft
- Netscape
- Novell
- Oracle
- Sun Microsystems
- Toshiba
- Xerox
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:
- Computer Industry REF HD9696.2.U62 Y67 History of the industry
- Computers: Systems, Terms and Acronyms REF TK5102 .H58
- Concise Encyclopedia of Computer Science REF QA76 .15 .C654
- Dictionary of Information Technology REF QA76.15 .C58
- Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications REF TK5105.875 .I57 B64
- Dictionary of Personal Computing and the Internet REF QA76.15 .C587
- Encyclopedia of Computer Science REF QA76.15 .E48
- Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History REF QA76.15 .E63
- Encyclopedia of Software Engineering REF QA76.785 .E53
- Internet: a Historical Encyclopedia REF TK5105.875.I57 I5372
- Inventions and Inventors REF T20 .I59
- Leaders of the Information Age REF QA76 .2 .A2 L43
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology REF Q121 .M3
- Milestones in Computer Science and Information Technology REF QA76 .R434
- Newton's Telecom Dictionary REF TK5102 .N492
- Oxford Dictionary of Computing REF QA76 .15 .D526
- Software Encyclopedia REF QA76.753 .S67
- Timetable of Computers REF QA76.17 .S65
- Webster's New World Computer Dictionary REF QA76.15 P395
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Telecommunications REF TK5102 .W55
- World of Computer Science REF QA76.15 .W67x
- World of Invention REF T15 .W82 \
Directories
- Software Encyclopedia REF QA76.753 .S67
Computers and Software at the Library
A complete listing of software owned by the Library on a given topic can be found by searching the Stout Library Catalog. While performing a guided keyword search, use the Limits option, select Media Type Computer File and then perform a keyword search on your topic.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait