Awards
The University Library's Educational Materials Center (EMC) has all Caldecott and Newbery Award winning books in the Juvenile or the Young Adult Collection, and many of the honor books. Search the Stout Library Catalog to identify the titles; instructions are under the BOOK/MEDIA tab.
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library:
- Children's Books: Awards & Prizes REF PN1009.A1 Z94x
- Children's Books in Print REF PN1009.A1 Z993x
- Coretta Scott King Awards Book REF PS153.N5 799x
- Newbery and Caldecott Awards REF PN1009.A1 N582x
- American Library Association (ALA) Books and media awards.
- Coretta Scott King Award
- Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
- John Newberry Medal
- McBookwords: State and Regional Book Awards
- Notable Social Studies Books for Young People
- Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12
- Ralph Caldecott Medal
Bibliographies
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library:
- Best Books for Children REF PN1009.Z99 G56x
- Children's Catalog REF PN1009.A1 Z9936x
- Elementary School Library Collection REF PN1009.A1 Z9943x
- Middle and Junior High School Library Catalog REF PN1009.A1 J854
- Senior High School Library Catalog REF Z675.S3 Z99x
- Subject Guide to Children's Books in Print REF PN1009.A1 Z9931x
Some specialized bibliographies are:
- A to Zoo REF PN1009.A1 Z942x
- High/Low Handbook: Best Books and Web Sites for Reluctant Teen Readers REF PE1128.Z99 L52
- Hit List for Children 2: Frequently Challenged Books Z1019 .B38
- Newbery Companion REF PS490.Z99 G55x
- Using Children's Literature to Learn about Disabilities PS374.G55 A55
- Amazon.com Choose 'Books', then choose 'Kids' Books' from the left menu; searchable by age and keyword.
- Books in Spanish for Children and Adolescents Barahona Center.
- Publishers Weekly Children's Books including bestsellers
Book Reviews
Book reviews, useful for evaluating specific children's books, can be located by using specialized children's book review indexes or general book review indexes.
Print resources available in the University Library.
- Book Review Index REF PN98.B7 Z92x
- Children's Literature Review REF PN1009.A1 C5139
- Primaryplots REF PN1009.A1 T46x
- Multicultural Review Periodicals Room
- Amazon.com
- ALL Native Books
- Barnes and Noble
- Booklist Review Journal of the American Library Association.
- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
- Children's Literature - Electronic Journals and Book Reviews
- BookHive
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait