General Children's and Young Adult Literature Sites
- Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC).
- Children's Book Council
- Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site Includes reviews of children's and professional books, articles, activities.
- Children's Literature Network Network of Upper Midwesterners with a proffesional interest in children's literature.
- Children's Literature WebRing
- Children's Literature Web Guide
- Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University Searchable database to assist in designing literature-based thematic units.
- Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC at UW-Madison).
- Digitized Juvenile Literature Collection Florida State University Libraries. This collection of full-text scanned images of over 30 children's books includes ABC books, holiday stories, and other examples of 19th century picture books.
- Fairrosa Cyber Library of Children's Literature
- Internet Public Library's KidSpace Includes Author information, book reviews written by children, stories to read.
- Kay E. Vandergrifts Special Interest Page Professor of Children's Literature page; current and colorful.
- Lexile Framwork for Reading Click "Search for Books" to search a database that procides Lexile (reading level) information about books.
- Lexile Map Correlates Lexile number to reading level.
- Literature for Children Scanned children's books which were published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950. Books are from the Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature, housed at the University of Florida.
- Picturing Childhood The Evolution of the Illustrated Children's Book.
- Recommended Literature: Kindergarten Through Grade 12 California Dept. of Education.
- Yahoo!: Children Arts/Humanities/Literature/Genre/Children with subcategories for Authors, Awards, Electronic Literature, Folk & Fairy Tales, Illustrators, Recommended Reading Lists, Reviews and Series.
Electronic Children's Books
- Candlelight Stories
- Classics for Young People
- Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
- International Children's Digital Library
- Mary Cavanaugh's Childrenstory
- StoryBook Online Network Storytelling community for children.
- StoryPlace: The Children's Digital Library
- SurLaLune Fairy Tale Pages A portal to the realm of fairy tale and folklore studies.
- Webtime Stories
Historical Children's Books
Included here are sites which provide illustrations of historical children's books.
- Bud Plant Illustrated Book Biographies and sample illustrations of childrens' to adults' sci-fi books.
- Children's Literature Chiefly from the Nineteenth Century University of South Carolina.
- Early Children's Books and Illustrations Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa.
- Elements of Book Design and Illustration An April 2003 exhibit at the Miriam Snow Mathes Historical Children's Literature Collection. Highlights design and illustrations used in children's literature from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- Historical Children's Literature Collection University of Washington.
- Dreams of Space Space art in children's literature.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait