Country Studies/ Area Handbooks/ Maps
You can subject search by the name of the country, e.g. MEXICO in the Stout Library Catalog, which will help you retrieve country studies, area handbooks and travel guides. A limited title search, e.g., Mexico and/or Area Handbook may be helpful for countries with numerous subject listings. A keyword search Fodor's will retrieve numerous travel guides owned by the University Library. The U.S. State Department offers both short and comprehensive country guides on all major countries.
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library
- Asia Pacific Business Travel Guide REF DS4 .A73x
- Basic Documents on Human Rights REF K3238 .A1B76
- Business Monitor International guide to the world's major emerging economies: country analyses and forecast reports REF HC59.7 .B867
- Child Labor: a Global View REF HD6231 .C453
- Countries and Their Cultures REF GN307 .C68
- CultureGrams REF GT150 .C85x
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures REF GN307 .E53
- Middle East and North Africa REF DS41 .M5
- Nations of the World REF HF1010 .N37
- Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States REF HC244 .A1 E29
- South American Handbook REF F1401 .S71
- Asia Source Current event information for Asia.
- BBC News World Edition: Country Profiles Country overviews, details on leaders and media, current news stories.
- Business Searching Interface Provides a searchable interface for company profiles, country reports, industry profiles (market share) and up-to-date market research reports; a subset of EBSCOHost's Business Source Premier database

- Canada (Government) Official Site.
- Countries and Regions From the World Bank.
- Countries of the World Provides country information from 1989 to the present, including a country's inflation rates, economy, geography, population, etc.
- Country Studies/ Area Handbooks
- Doing Business Database Provides indicators of the cost of doing business by identifying specific regulations that enhance or constrain business investment, productivity, and growth.
- Economist.com Country Briefings Covering approximately sixty countries from Algeria to Vietnam, this site offers news stories, fact sheets, and links to official government sites.
- Eldis (Electronic Development and Environment Information System) From the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex, England; Privides over 22,000 summarized documents from over 4,500 development organizations - all available free to download on countries and regions in the world.
- Europa World Year Book Online version, click on the Countries link.

- FDI.Net From the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA), is a web portal that offers free, on-demand country analysis and information on all things related to foreign direct investment in 175 countries.
- Foreign Relations of the United States Provides full text memos and reports on U.S. foreign relations from the U.S. Department of State
- Global Integrity Information on governance and corruption for countries around the world.
- Human Rights Reports Country Reports, from the U.S. Department of State. See Section 6 - Worker's Rights.
- IMF Staff Country Reports From the International Monetary Fund, it includes recent economic developments, statistics, and special reports for approximately 150 countries.
- Index Mundi Country Profiles. Includes historical data graphs for such things as inflation rate.
- Industry Canada Canada's business and consumer site.
- Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) Established by the Japanese government.
- LANIC: Busniess Latin American Network Information Center.
- Lexis Nexis Country profiles. Click Business tab in red bar; select Country Profiles on left.

- Map Resources University Library Subject Guide.
- National Geographic Map Machine
- One World - Nations Online Provides selected official and unofficial virtual gateways to the countries of the world.
- Portals to the World Contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world.
- U.S. Department of State: Travel Information
- World Guide From Intute created by a network of UK universities and partners; provides a series of guides for over 270 countries and territories.
- World Wide Gazeteer Provides country profiles, world news and other information.
- Yahoo!: Countries
Yearbooks
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Select World Data on left
- Europa World Year Book Online version, click on the Countries link
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library
Yearbooks are usually revised annually and may contain information on the economy of a country as well as demographic, socioeconomic, trade, and industry statistics.
- Britannica Book of the Year REF AE5 .E364
- Consumer Eastern Europe REF HC244.Z9 C66
- Consumer Europe REF HB801 .C66
- Consumer International REF HC79.C6 C636
- Consumer USA REF HC101 .C744
- Demographic Yearbook (U.N.) REF HA17 .D45
- Europa World Yearbook REF JN1 .E86
- European Marketing Forecasts REF HC240.A1 E85
- Global Competitiveness Report REF HF1414 .G559
- Global Market Share Planner REF HD2757.15 .G562
- International Marketing Forecasts REF HF5410 .I58
- International Trade Statistics Yearbook REF HF91 .U474
- Retail Trade International (8 vols) REF HF5429 .R48
- Statesman's Year-Book REF JA51 .S7
- Statistical Yearbook (Unesco) REF AZ361 .U45
- Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean REF F1401 .A58x
- World Consumer Lifestyles Databook REF HF5415.3 .W67
- World Economic Outlook REF HC10 .W7979
- World Retail Data and Statistics REF HF5429 .W6723
- World Retail Directory and Sourcebook REF HF5429 .W672 Includes global trends and statistics
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait