Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Business
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
Indexes/Databases to try first:
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Business Source Premier
- Textile Technology Complete
- Newspaper Source Plus Full text articles from newspapers including the Wall Street Journal and New York Times
- Emerald Library
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Business and Industry
- Business and Management Practices
- Lexis Nexis: Academic Full text articles, news, legal information, company profiles and financial information
- News
- Business Instructions
- ProQuest + Instructions Full text articles from business magazines, journals and newspapers
- ABI/Inform
- Hoover's Company Records
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Business Full Text
- OmniFile
Other Indexes/Databases to try:
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Hospitality and Tourism Complete
- Regional Business News
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Business and Industry
- Business and Management Practices
- JSTOR
- Leisure Tourism Citations and abstracts from the tourism industry
- Newsbank Newsfile Full text articles from regional and national newspapers, including many city business newspapers
- Turgrass Information File (TGIF)
- Newspapers on the WWW To access current online news, look for sections on business, money, finances or stocks in each newspaper
- Yahoo!: Business News
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Business Week
- Business Wire
- CFO Tools and Resources for Financial Executives
- CNN/Money
- Economist
- E-Commerce Times
- Fast Company
- Forbes
- Human Resource Executive Online
- Inc.
- Industry Week
- Internet News.com: Business
- Journal of Commerce Online
- Knowledge @Wharton
- Monthly Labor Review
- Worth
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the Library:
- Business Week
- Industry Forum
- Journal of Management
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
01/09/2009



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait