GENERAL ART Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
- ArtCyclopedia
- ArtLex Art dictionary (does not include artists).
- Cameo Conservation and Art Material Encyclopedia Online.
- Oxford Art Online

- Credo Reference 14 art dictionaries and encyclopedias available.

- Union List of Artist Names Online From the Getty Museum, a search able database of artists' names and their variations to help clarify the way an artist's name is spelled or represented, middle names, prefixes, hyphens and all and also contains references to the resources cited for each.
- Visual Dictionary Online From Merriam-Webster, access to over 6,000 images.
- Words of Art
AMERICAN ART Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- American Masters from Bingham to Eakins National Gallery of Art
- Archives of American Art Bureau of the Smithsonian Institution
- Art Inventories Catalog Database descibing American paintings (pre 1914) and sulptures (colonial to contemporary)
- Exploring Themes in American Art From the National Gallery of Art
- Panoramas: The North American Landscape in Art
- Women Artists of the American West
ARCHITECTURE Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- American Bungalow
- American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920 From Harvard Graduate School of Design.
- Archiplanet Maintained by Architecture Week; although a wiki, contributors must register and content is monitored.
- Architecture and Building Excellent set of links to some of the best architecture sites on the Internet. From University of Nevada at LV.
- Architecture Through the Ages
- Built in America Digitized versions of drawings from more than 35,000 historic structures.
- Cities and Building Database From the University of Washington, provides a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world.
- Digital Archive of American Architecture From Boston College.
- Digital Archive of Architecture From Boston College.
- Digital Imaging Project Art historical images of architecture and sculpture from prehistoric to postmodern. From Mary Ann Sullivan, Blufton University.
- Glass Steel and Stone; The Art of Architecture Searchable site which has descriptions, photographs, and three-dimensional models of buildings, bridges, skyscrapers, and other architectural constructions.
- Great Buildings Collection
- Historic House Architecture Emphasis on Late-Victorian and Craftsman Style Bungalows
- International Archive of Women in Architecture Biographical information and images.
- Kidder Smith Slide Archives on American Architecture From MIT Libraries.
- National Building Museum
- New Urban Guild Design and construction of traditional urbanism and architecture.
- Some Assembly Required: Contemporary Prefabricated Houses A Walker Art Center Exhibit.
- SPIRO, Architecture Visual Resources Library From U.C. Berkeley.
- Victorian Architecture from About.com.
- Vitruvio In-depth architecture research site from Switzerland.
CERAMICS Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- Ceramics Web Includes searchable databases, GlazeBase, ClayArt Glazes, Material Analyzes Database and Interglaze; also links to other ceramic sites, health and safety information, educational materials, and journals
- Chinese Ceramics From the Pacific Asia Museum.
- Critical Ceramics Articles and discussions on ceramic art.
- National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts
- PaperClay Art Information on paper clay, from the basics to how to get advanced info and even ready-made paper clay.
- PotWeb: Ceramics Online From the British Ashmolean Museum.
COMIC ART Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- ASIFA - Hollywood Animation Archive
- Comic Art + Graffix Gallery Vintage movie posters, comic books and comic art.
- Comic Art Collection From Michigan State University Libraries.
- Comic Book Resources
- Comics Research.org
- Librarian's Guide to Anime and Manga
- Sequential Tart A web zine about the comics industry.
DESIGN Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- Art, Design and Visual Thinking Interactive Textbook by Charlotte Jirousek.
- Feng Shui Directory of Consultants and Schools
- University Library Subject Guide: Design and Designers.
- University Library Subject Guide: Graphic Design
DECORATIVE ARTS Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- Arts and Crafts Society
- Crafts Links From the Librarians' Internet Index.
- Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture From the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
- Index of American Design National Gallery of Art.
- FM4 Dedicated to furniture, including sections on designers, history and articles.
- Yahoo! Furniture Design
DRAWING Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- Drawings of Leonardo da Vinci
- Figure-Drawing Lab From the University of Evansville.
- Guide to the Landscape Prints and Drawings Online Archive of California. Select from the contents listed on the left.
PAINTING Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- Impressionism
- WebMuseum Famous Artworks Exhibition With artist index and themes index.
- Yahoo!: Painting: Masters
SCULPTURE Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc
- Digital Imaging Project Art historical images of architecture and sculpture from prehistoric to postmodern by Mary Ann Sullivan, Bluffton College.
- 1200 Years of Italian Sculpture
- Sculptor.org
SYMBOLS Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
- Symbols.com Encyclopedia of western signs and ideograms.
- Symbols in Christian Art and Architecture
- Dictionary of Symbolism
At the Library
Print resources available at the University Library:
General
- Dictionary of Art REF N31 .D5
- Encyclopedia of World Art REF N31 .E533
- Art in the Modern Era REF N6490 .D415
- Atlas of World Art REF G1046.E1 O9
- Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists REF N40 .B535
- Bulfinch Guide to Art History REF N380 .B78
- Contemporary Artists REF N6490 .C6567
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture REF N5610 .G76
- Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture REF N6260 .G75
- Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art REF N6370 .Z57
- International Dictionary of Art and Artists REF N40 .I55
- Oxford Dictionary of Art REF N33 .O93
American Art
- Encyclopedia of American Art Before 1914 REF N6507 .E53
- Encyclopedia of American Folk Art REF NK805 .E6
- Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists REF N6505 .M59
- St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists REF N6538.H58 S7
- Who Was Who in American Art REF N6505 .W56x
Architecture
- Abrams Guide to American House Styles REF NA7205 .M6793
- Contemporary Architects REF NA680 .C625
- Dictionary of Architecture REF NA31 .C86
- Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Architecture REF NA680 .E495
- International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture REF NA40 .I48
Decorative Arts
- Dictionary of Furniture REF NK2205 .D5
- Elements of Design REF NK750 .E48
- Elements of Style REF NA2850 .E445
- Encyclopedia of Furniture REF NK2205 .Y38
- Materials and Techniques in the Decorative Arts REF NK30 .M38
- Oxford Companion to the Decorative Arts REF NK1165 .O85x
- Style Sourcebook REF NK1705 .M56
Design
- Contemporary Designers REF NK1166 .C66x
- Design Chronicles REF NK1390 .G36
- Design Encyclopedia REF NK1370 .B93
- Encyclopedia of Interior Design REF NK1165 .E48
- Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900 REF NK1390 .J85
- Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th Century Design and Designers REF NK1165 .J84x
Sculpture
- Encyclopedia of Sculpture REF NB198 .E53
Symbols
- 1000 Symbols REF AZ108 .S54x
- Dictionary of Symbolism REF AZ108 .B5313
- Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography REF N7560 .E63x
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait