Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Art and Art History
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- Bibliography of the History of Art + Instructions
- CSA Illumina: Design and Applied Arts Index
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Web of Science: Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Art Full Text Flash Tutorial
- Biographies Plus
- Humanities Full Text
- OmniFile
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Architect Online
- Architecural Record
- Art Access Discusses Pacific Northwest Art Scene, artists, and galleries.
- Art Knowledge News
- Art Newspaper
- ArtScene California.
- Craftsman 1901-1916 Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture. Arts and Crafts Movement. Under Search within specific title, highlighting Craftsman.
- Journal of Contemporary Art
- Kodak e-Magazine
- Studio Potter
- Wet Canvas Cyber Living for Artists.
- Yahoo! Architecture Magazines
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor in the University Library:
- African Arts
- American Artist
- American Craft
- Apollo
- Architectural Digest
- Architectural Record
- Architectural Review
- Architecture Minnesota
- Art Bulletin
- Art Education
- Art Journal
- ArtForum International
- ARTnews
- Artweek
- Design Issues
- Flash Art (International Edition)
- Graphic Arts Monthly
- How
- Magazine Antiques
- Master Drawings
- Metalsmith
- Metropolis
- Novum
- Sculpture Review
- Studies in Art Education
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
2/17/2009



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait