Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.
- Apparel Search Main Glossary
- Apparel and Textiles Glossary In Plunkett Research Online's Apparel & Textiles Industry Center.

- Credo Reference Has a business category, and under "Art", fashion dictionaries.

- FabricLink: Performance Term Glossary
- Fashion Encyclopedia Mainly designers, but includes entrepreneurs and histories of fashion houses and specialty stores.
- Glossary of Hosiery Terms From The Hosiery Association.
- Quick Guide to Manufactured Fibers: Generic Fibers, Trademarks, Characteristics, Uses
- Shoe-Sock Sizing Guide From The Hosiery Association. Includes International Sizing.
- Stylopedia
- WWD Fashion Dictionary
Directories
- Biz Rate Shopping Search Comparison shopping.
- Bocat Directory of apparel and textile e-marketplaces and other resources for business purchasing.
- Google Catalogs Search or browse over 1300 catalogs.
- Fabric Marketing Research Marketing profiles on over 15,000 U.S. fashion firms.
- Fashion Industry Directory From Apparel Search.
- Fashion Net Online shopping directory.
- Fashiondex: The Apparel Industry Sourcing Site
- Stores Retail Buying Guides Retail supplier and software directories.
- Virtual Garment Center Database of companies and markets.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias at the Library
Print Sources Available in the Reference Area on the First Floor of the University Library
- Career Opportunities in the Fashion Industry REF TT507 .V63
- Complete Footwear Dictionary REF TS947 .R67
- Contemporary Fashion REF TT505.A1 C66
- Design Encyclopedia REF NK1370 .B93
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion REF GT507 .E53
- Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion REF TT503 .C34
- Fairchild Encyclopedia of Accessories REF TT503 .T67
- Fashion and Merchandising Fads REF E169.12 .H634
- Fashion, Costume and Culture REF GT511 .P46
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History REF GT507 .G74
- Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry REF TT494 .S84
- Illustrated Dictionary of Historic Costume REF GT510. P48
- St. James Fashion Encyclopedia REF TT505.A1 S7
- Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers REF TT505 .O53x
Retail Merchandising
- Dictionary of Marketing Communications REF HF5412 .G68
- Dictionary of Retailing and Merchandising REF HF1001 .R793
- Key Concepts in E-Commerce REF HF5548.32 .C47238
- IEBM Encyclopedia of Marketing REF HF5412 .I42x
- Oxford Dictionary for the Business World REF HF1001 .O96
- Who's Buying Apparel REFHD9940.U6 W46
Directories at the Library
Print Sources Available in the University Library
- American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory REF HF5421 .A615
- High-Volume Retailers REF HF5429.3 .P77
- Lexis Nexis Corporate Affiliations REF HG4009 .D57x
- Mass Merchandisers & Off-Price Apparel Buyers REF HF5468 .S27
- Men's and Boys' Wear Buyers REF HD9940.U3 M39
- Million Dollar Directory REF HC102 .D8
- Sheldon's Major Stores and Chains REF HF5429.3 .S52
- Shopping Center Directory REF HF5035 .D53
- State Manufacturers' Directories REF T12 area
- Women's and Children's Wear Buyers REF HD9940.U3 W65x
- World Retail Directory and Sourcebook REF HF5429 .W672
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait