Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Computer Science
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform Instructions
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- MasterfilePremier
- Business Source Premier
- Science Reference Center
- Emerald Library
- IEEE Explore (partially funded by the Rakstis Endowment)
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Business Full Text
- Education Full Text
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile
- Engineering Village 2: Compendex
- FirstSearch: Business and Industry Instructions
- LexisNexis
- Business Sources Instructions
- News
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Online Sources of Research:
- Computer Science Technical Reports
- DiGRA Digital Library Gaming research
- IBM Research Options to view other IBM research as well
- IBM Almaden Research Center Innovations in software and services
- IBM Hursley Software Lab From the United Kingdom
Magazine and Journal Links
- Yahoo!'s Computer Magazines
- ACM Crossroads Student Magazine Association for Computing Machinery.
- Computer Link Magazine From Rochester Computers.com.
- Computer Mediated Communication Magazine
- CJNet News
- Educause Peer reviewed articles for higher education users on information resources.
- IBM Journal of Research and Development
- IBM Systems Journal
- IEEE Computer Magazine
- IEEE Internet Computing Online
- Internet World Online Web news.
- Linux.com/NewsForge
- MacWorld With buying guides and software downloads.
- Network Computing
- PC World
- Silicon Valley.com Daily tech news brief.
- Unix World From Network Computing.
- Wired News
- ZDNet News
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the Library
- Computer Graphics World
- Computerworld
- Journal of Educational Multimedia and Hypermedia
- MacWorld
- Network World
- PC Magazine
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
1/20/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait