Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Children's and YA Literature
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions Includes full-text articles on children's literature from general periodicals
- Academic Search Complete
- MasterFILE Premier
- Education Reference Center
- Educational Administration Abstracts
- ERIC
- Professional Development Collection
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- ERIC
- Humanities Full Text Flash Tutorial
- OmniFile Full Text
- Biographies Plus Illustrated
- Project Muse
- Teaching Books Provides links to movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, guides to titles, and multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature.
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Journals
Some journals specialize in children's literature.
- Children's Literature Association Quarterly available in Project MUSE (2005 to current) and Periodicals Stacks
The following have some full text articles online. Connect to the linked database and select the index cited below:
- Children's Literature in Education available in EBSCOHost ERIC and Periodicals Stacks
- Horn Book Magazine available in EBSCOHost Academic Search Elite and Periodicals Stacks
- Journal of Children's Literature available in WilsonWeb Omnifile only
- The Lion and the Unicorn available in Project MUSE
- School Library Journal available in EBSCOHost Academic Search Elite and Periodicals Stacks
- Book Links: Connecting Books, Libraries, and Classrooms : provides a useful cumulative index which covers 1999-current
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
9/22/08



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait