Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Chemistry
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- American Chemical Society (ACS)
- CSA Illumina: Health and Safety Science Abstracts (citations only)
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Science Reference Center
- Engineering Village 2: Compendex
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile
- Chemistry Central Open access to chemistry journals from BioMed Central
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Nature
Nature Publishing Group provides these scholarly/peer-reviewed journals:
- Bone Marrow Transplantation
- British Journal of Cancer
- British Journal of Phrmacology
- Cell Death and Differentiation
- Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics
- EMBO Journal
- EMBO Reports
- European Journal of Clinical Nutrition
- Eye
- Gene Therapy
- Heredity
- Immunology and Cell Biology
- International Journal of Obesity
- Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism
- Journal of Investigative Dermatology
- Journal of Perinatology
- Laboratory Investigation
- Kidney International
- Leukemia
- Modern Pathology
- Molecular Psychiatry
- Molecular Therapy
- Nature
- Nature Biotechnology
- Nature Cell Biology
- Nature Chemical Biology
- Nature Genetics
- Nature Geoscience
- Nature Immunology
- Nature Materials
- Nature Medicine
- Nature Methods
- Nature Nanotechnology
- Nature Neuroscience
- Nature Photonics
- Nature Physics
- Nature Protocols
- Nature Reviews Cancer
- Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
- Nature Reviews Genetics
- Nature Reviews Immunology
- Nature Reviews Microbiology
- Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology
- Nature Reviews Neuroscience
- Nature Structural and Molecular Biology
- Neuropsychopharmacology
- Oncogene
- Spinal Cord
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
12/15/2008



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait