When searching for articles in a database, choose keywords instead of typing in a sentence or question. When developing keywords, identify main ideas, synonyms, and broader, narrower, or related terms.
You may often be asked by your professor to find scholarly, peer-reviewed, or refereeed journal articles. These types of articles are extensively researched, and are written by experts in the field of study. They usually are centered around a very specific research study, and include a literature review with multiple references and thorough explanation of their research methods and findings. Many of our databases have tools to limit your results to only these types of articles. If you need help or are unsure if an article is scholarly, ask a librarian for help!
Getting the Article
full text in another database or
the list of links to databases that have the article or
the Fetch It for Me link to request from another source if the article is not available full text online
These EBSCO databases are included in this search: Academic Search Complete, Humanities International Complete, Humanities Source, Literary Reference Center, MLA Directory of Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, Readers Guide Full Text Mega, Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982.
The Library has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV & VII and over 38,000 DRM-free e-books. Search JSTOR for books, academic journals, images, letters, and other primary sources.
Provides modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Includes scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
The Gale Literature Series includes: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Literary Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literary Review. Coverage is through June 30, 2008.