Includes 80,000+ title from both commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and private sites. Topics from the Ancient Agriculture to Space Flight. Includes 2000+ dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, glossaries, bibliographies, timelines, chronologies, and literary histories.
Stockton-San Joaquin County Public Library (CA) provides an annotated directory of Free E-book Sites, Free Personal Digital Assistant [PDA] Sites, Commercial Sites, and E-book Reader Software along with technical tips for reading, searching and saving.
Open Library is a catalog of over 20 million edition records online with access to 1.7 million scanned versions of books. It also links to sources like WorldCat (links to library holdings) and Amazon to get you as close to the actual document you're looking for as possible.
Provides 20,000+ free electronic books, mainly "older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States." Books are classified as "light literature" ("Alice in Wonderland," "Peter Pan"), "heavy literature" (the Bible, "Moby Dick," works by Shakespeare), and reference works. Formats include audiobooks, recorded music, moving pictures and digitized sheet music.
From Bookshare.org this is free for all U.S. students with qualifying disabilities (membership fee for others). It provides 90,000 digital books, textbooks, teacher-recommended reading, periodicals and assistive technology tools for readers with print disabilities.
DAISY is an acronym for Digital Accessible Information SYstem. "1 million+ books in the Internet Archive’s library for print disabled, are scanned from hard copy books then digitized into DAISY — a specialized format used by blind or other persons with disabilities, for easy navigation. Files are downloaded to devices that translate the text and read the books aloud for the user to enjoy."