Skip to main content


Performance Analysis CTE 534

In order to understand employee's training needs you may need to analyze and write employee tasks.

Use Stout Thesis Collection and/or ERIC for Assignment #1  

Stout Thesis Collection

Many Stout graduate papers are task analyses. Use both search terms TASK ANALYSIS and PERFORMANCE ANALYSIS.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

ERIC provides a comprehensive collection of educational materials including performance analyses.

  • Access ERIC via the EBSCOhost databases Stout Users Only
  • Click on Research Databases
  • Select ERIC from the list

VTECS (Vocational Technical Consortium of States)

VTECS ( is series of specific performance analyses in many diverse occupations. The collection is available online and can be searched and located through the Stout Library Catalog. BTW: Vocational Technical Consortium of States now is called Career and Technical Consortium of States (CTECS); the functionality of your search however will not be change.

Search in Search@UW using the keyword VTECS.  

  • A VTEC document will first contain a lengthy list of tasks associated with the occupation.
  • Then most documents (but not all) will also contain an  ELEMENTS LIST. That ELEMENTS section contains the following for the job:   
    • Performance objective
    • Performance steps
    • Item to be evaluated
    • Enabling competencies
    • Condition for performance of task


Additional resources:

Subject Guide

Kate Kramschuster's picture
Kate Kramschuster
Robert S. Swanson Library Learning Center
Offfice 110
315 10th Avenue
Menomonie, WI 54751