Skip to main content

PRIMARY RESOURCES: ASSIGNMENTS

Search Strategy by Type of Source

TYPE OF PRIMARY SOURCE SEARCH STRATEGY
Books from the time period you're writing about
  • Use Search@UW to search by topic or keywords and limit by date of publication
Memoirs, letters, interviews, autobiographies, diaries
  • if you have the name of an individual, use Search@UW.  Select the Author tab.  Enter the name (last name, first name)
  • if you do not have the name of an individual, search Search@UW by topic or keywords and add the appropriate subheading:
    • correspondence
    • diaries
    • interviews
    • personal narratives
    (ex: subject keywords: japanese americans interviews)
  • You can also do the same searches for the UW System Libraries by searching the  Stout Library Catalog and selecting that option. 
  • use some of the diary databases on the Articles tab
  • ask for assistance at the Library reference desk in locating bibliographies and other reference tools that may help you find other titles
Magazine or journal article from the time period you're writing about
  • use an article database/index to locate the citations (title, author, name of the periodical, date, volume, page numbers) of relevant articles
  • click the Find It! button on a citation to see if it is full text online or available at UW-Stout
Newspaper article from the time period you're writing about - for a specific event or date
  • use a newspaper database to locate the citations (title, author, name of the periodical, date, volume, page numbers) of relevant articles. 
  • also use New York Times index in the Reference Area of the Library for pre 1980 dates
Specific newspaper or periodical title (example: Milwaukee Journal)
  • use Search@UW to search by title of the newspaper
Newspaper titles by city
  • use Search@UW.  Enter the city's name, select the "contains" button". (ex:  los angeles)
  • NOTE: The Archives/Area Research Center on the library's third floor holds many of the local newspapers for towns and cities in Dunn, Pepin, and Barron counties.  It also includes the student and departmental newspapers of the UW-Stout and its predecessors.
Records of materials published by an organization
  • use Search@UW to search by the name of the organization.  Select the Author tab and enter the organization's name in the LAST name box (ex: Ku Klux Klan)
Records of government agencies
  • use Search@UW.  Select the Author tab.  Enter the name of the government agency in the LAST name box (ex: United States. Dept. of Commerce)
  • use Government Resources library guide for current documents
Manuscript collections
  • use Search@UW to search by names of author (last name, first name) or corporate author.
  • use Search@UW to search by keywords; limit if necessary to Media: Archive/Manuscript (ex: University of Wisconsin Stout)
  • NOTE: The Archives/Area Research Center on the library's third floor holds manuscripts relating to history of Dunn, Pepin, and Barron counties. It also holds a variety of records from UW-Stout departments, organizations, and individuals.
Speeches
  • use Search@UW to search by name of person
  • use Search@UW to search by keyword and add the word speeches (ex: slavery speeches) or ask for assistance at the library reference desk
Photographs
  • use Search@UW to search using the keywords photographs or pictorial works (example: world war 1939-1945 pictorial works)
  • use Search@UW to search by names of persons or topics as keywords (limit if necessary by Type)
  • use Search@UW to search by names of photographers as authors
  • NOTE: When records are found in the Catalog, click on Staff View link; then look in the 300 field for a note for ill. or photo.
  • use one of the image search engines found on Searching the Web (ex: on Google images, enter: world war I)
Audio recordings
  • use Search@UW to search by subject, title, or author and limit to Type:  nonmusical recording (ex: vietnam war).
video recordings or video clips
  • use Search@UW. Select Limit To: DVD/VHS. In a keyword search, include the word videorecording (ex: Iraq videorecording)
  • use one of the image video engines found on Searching the Web (ex: on Blinx or YouTube, enter: Martin Luther King I Have a Dream speech)
Public opinion polls

Consult the Speech and Forensics library guide section on Opinions

Movies from a particular time period

Consult one of the following to identify a movie: