Skip to main content

RDGED 703/704: CHILDREN'S AND YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE: AUTHORS AND ILLUSTRATORS

LitFOCUS for Students of Children's and Young Adult DE Courses

Interlibrary Loan

To obtain author information from Stout Library books, complete an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Be sure to indicate you're a DE Student. A PDF file will be sent to your Stout email account. Instructions

Biography and Geneology Master Index

Biography and Genalogy Master Index 

This vast resource leads to sources of biographical information for authors and illustrators of children's books.

Biographical Databases

Two online-line databases contain full-text biographical information:

  • Contemporary Authors  An extremely important resource for this course! Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. 

     
  • Biography Reference Bank from EBSCO. Contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 print volumes of biographical reference books.

    Flash tutorial | Instructions

Biographical Sources by Your Instructor!

The following contain brief biographical articles on authors and illustrators.

100 Most Popular Children's Authors - Ebook.  You will be prompted to login with your UW-Stout username and password.Stout Users Only

100 Most Popular Picture Book Authors and Illustrators - Ebook. You will be prompted to login with your UW-Stout username and password.Stout Users Only

Something About the Author - Searchable Ebook. You will be prompted to login with your UW-Stout username and password.Stout Users Only

Children's Authors and Illustrators Too Good To Miss
View in the Stout Library Catalog.  By the Google Books on the right side of the catalog page, select About this book. Scroll down the page to view Table of Contents for person. Also click View Sample button at top for a preview. Want to read the whole thing? Order it in print through InterLibrary Loan.

Bookpeople: a Multicultural Album
View in the Stout Library Catalog. By the Google Books on the right side of the catalog page, select About this Book. Scroll down the page to view Table of Contents for person.  Also, click View Sample button at top for a preview.  Want to read the whole thing?  Order it in print through InterLibrary Loan.

McBookwords: Authors and Illustrators on the Web  Authors and Illustrators on the Web. More than 600 links to websites maintained by individual authors/illustrators.

Books at the Library