Skip to main content

SOCIOLOGY AND SOCIAL WORK

Search Credo & GVRL First: Social Sciences

 
Social Sciences Encyclopedias

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks provide general background information and identify terms with which you are unfamiliar. They are often a good place to begin research.

Books at the Library

  • 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook REF HM585 .A13
  • Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families Main HQ519 .B53
  • Child Poverty in America Today REF HV741 .C4875
  • Class in America: An Encyclopedia REF HN90.S6 C564 
  • Dictionary of the Social Sciences Main H41 .D53
  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics Main QH332 .E52
  • Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence Main HV6626 .E534
  • Encyclopedia of Gangs REF HV6439 .U5 E53
  • Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice Main HV9104 .E58
  • Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence REF HV9104 .E59
  • Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society REF HT1521 .E63
  • Encyclopedia of Rural America REF E169.12 .E53
  • Encyclopedia of Social Work REF HV35 .S6
  • Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia REF HQ75.13 .G37
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture  REF HM621 .G74
  • Historical Atlas of American Crime REF HV6779 .R67
  • Homelessness Handbook REF HV4493 .H68
  • International Encyclopedia of Adolescence REF HQ796 .I58
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences REF H40.A2 I5
  • Internet Predators Main HV6773 .H45
  • Research Methods in the Social Sciences Main H62 .R454
  • Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods REF H62 .L456
  • Sage Handbook of Social Research Methods Main H62 .S2758
  • Social Issues in America: an Encyclopedia REF HN57 .S624
  • Social Science Encyclopedia Main H41 .S63
  • Social Work Dictionary REF HV12 .B37
  • Urban Sprawl Main HT384.U5 U75

Directories

  • National Directory of Children, Youth and Families Services REF HV741 .N3157