Skip to main content

PACKAGING

Law and Regulations

  • Lexis Nexis: Academic Lexis Nexis Help  Complete legal research source including federal, state laws and regulations, full text legal periodicals and legal news sources. Stout Users Only 
  • Lexis Nexis: Congressional Serials Set Congressional publications and legislative histories (1970-present), full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills and the Congressional Record (1988-present), bill tracking reports, public laws and the United States Code service Stout Users Only
  • FindLaw Excellent subject directory for all aspects of legal research
  • GovEngine.com Consolidation of links to federal, state and local government sites
  • Guide to Law Online From the US Law Library of Congress. Includes other nations' laws, and international law as well as US law sites
  • Internet Law Library Originally from the U.S. House of Representatives to provide free access to documents of U.S. law, it is now maintained by one of its successor sites, the 'Lectric Law Library.
  • Law Library of Congress
  • LawGuru Search more than 500 legal search engines and tools for State, Federal, and International Law
  • Legal Information Institute From Cornell University, comprehensive site to Federal, State and International Law
  • Nolo's Legal Encyclopedia Covers information on a variety of legal topics
  • WashLaw From Washburn School of Law; Search or browse Federal, State or International Law as well as other legal topics
  • Zimmerman's Research Guide Online encyclopedia and links

Federal Bills:

Federal Regulations:

  • Lexis Nexis: Academic Lexis Nexis Help  Stout Users Only Includes the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations.
  • ProQuest: Congressional Serials Set Congressional publications and legislative histories (1970-present), full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills and the Congressional Record (1988-present), bill tracking reports, public laws and the United States Code service Stout Users Only
  • Federal Register  "The official daily publication for the rules, proposed rules and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as executive orders and other presidential documents." Includes many but not all departmental and agency regulations. See:
  • Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)  Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by executive departments and agencies of the U.S. government. Divided into 50 titles representing broad areas subject to Federal regulation, each volume of CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued quarterly."
  • Federal Register Tutorial: What Is It and How to Use It available to view or to print

State Regulations:

Local Regulations:

Patents: