Skip to main content

FOOD AND NUTRITION

Online Book Collection

Knovel Library Stout Users Only (select Search Knovel link) provides  a one-stop source for finding answers to food and nutrition questions. The full text Knovel database contains some of the leading food and nutrition reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.

Topics covered include:

  • food ingredients
  • food safety and quality
  • manufacture and processing
  • nutrition
  • storage and preservation

Some of the standard reference texts included are:

  • Handbook of Food Proteins
  • Food Safety Handbook
  • Nutrition Handbook for Food Processors
  • USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference

Handbook Sites

Handbooks are particularly important in food science and nutrition for accessing factual information and answering "how to do it" questions.

Books at the Library

Print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:

  • Almanac of the Canning, Freezing, Preserving Industries REF TX599 .C4
  • Bowes & Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used Main TX551 .P385
  • CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition REF QP141 .B523
  • Fenaroli's Handbook of Flavor Ingredients REF TP418 .B86
  • Food Biotechnology Main TP248.65.F66 F6482 
  • Food Composition and Nutrition Tables Main TX551 .F662
  • Handbook of Food Products Manufacturing REF TP370.4 .H375
  • Handbook of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods Main QP144.F85 H36
  • Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink REF TX349 .O94
  • Prescription for Nutritional Healing Main RA784 .B2483