This is the "GETTING STARTED" page of the "BOOKS 24/7 INSTRUCTIONS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask A Librarian

Admin Sign In 

BOOKS 24/7 INSTRUCTIONS  Tags: e_books electronic_books  

Last update: Jul 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uwstout.edu/books247help  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

GETTING STARTED             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Using/Access

LOGIN TO BOOKS 24/7

Books24x7 is a provider of on-demand business, technical and engineering content containing thousands of digitized "best-in-class" books, book summaries, research reports and best practices. The Stout University Library subscribes to IT/Pro, one of the collections available in the Books 24/7 database array. The IT/Pro collection contains 6,772 titles covering both broad and deep coverage of information technology.

 

Database Access

Stout Users Only! Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.

See Remote Access instructions.

 
 

Getting Started

Note:

  • Books 24/7 provides extensive Help. Click on the Help Tab located in the upper right of the screen.
  • Click on the I Agree button to agree with the memberhip agreement.

Keyword Search:

  • Start searching for content using the search box which is found on the top of most pages.
  • Browse through new and popular titles found in the My Home Folders on the My Home page.

Advanced Search:

  • For more complex searches, click on the Advanced Search link located in the top right of the screen.
  • In Advanced Search, combinations of terms can be combined using Boolean operators (and, or, not), limiting by dates.

My Home Folders:

  • Click the My Home tab at the top of the page. Personal Folders and the System Folders are in the left hand column. Note: Due to the restrictions to the Stout University Library's subscription, setting up personal accounts and alert services are not available to the Stout community.
  • The What's New (default) folder displays a Collections tab which lists the titles newly released to the site.
  • The Top Titles'folder displays the most frequently viewed titles on the site.
 

Reference Librarians

Profile ImageNeed Help?
This is a Meebo instant messaging widget. If your browser does not have the required plugin you can email Reference instead.


Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Desk Hours
MON-TH 9:00am-5:00pm & 6:00pm-9:00pm
FRI 9:00am-4:30pm
SAT 1:30pm-4:30pm
SUN 2:00-5:00pm & 6:00-9:00pm
Send Email

 

Last Revised

07/17/2009