Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Biology
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
Indexes/Databases to try first:
- Agricola (National Agricultural Library) citations/abstracts
- Biological Abstracts
- BioOne
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Environment Complete
- GreenFILE
- Masterfile Premier
- Science Reference Center
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Agricola (National Agriculture Library) citations/abstracts
- BioDigest
- Turfgrass Information File (TGIF)
- Web of Science: Science Citation Index Expanded
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- General Science Full Text
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
- OmniFile
Health Related Indexes/Databses to try:
- Annual Review of Nutrition
- CSA Illumina: Health and Safety Science Abstracts and Risk Abstracts
- BiomedCentral Free access to science, technology, and medicine; scholarly journals
- Directory of Open Access Journals Free access to scholarly journals includes the sciences
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- MEDLINE
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection: Basic
- PsycArticles
- PsycInfo
- Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews-Human Nutrition (CabDirect)
- PubMed
Other Indexes/Databasses to try:
- ArXiv Free access to preprint papers in quantitative biology
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- PLoS Biology A peer reviewed, open access journal from the Public Library of Science (PLos).
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the Library.
- American Biology Teacher
- Audubon
- Environment
- Journal of Nutrition
- Quarterly Review of Biology (microfiche)
- Journal of Chromatographic Science
- Journal of Environmental Health
- Journal of Food Biochemistry
- Nature
- Science
- Scientific American
Nature
Nature Publishing Group provides these scholarly/peer-reviewed journals:
- Bone Marrow Transplantation
- British Journal of Cancer
- British Journal of Phrmacology
- Cell Death and Differentiation
- Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics
- EMBO Journal
- EMBO Reports
- European Journal of Clinical Nutrition
- Eye
- Gene Therapy
- Heredity
- Immunology and Cell Biology
- International Journal of Obesity
- Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism
- Journal of Investigative Dermatology
- Journal of Perinatology
- Laboratory Investigation
- Kidney International
- Leukemia
- Modern Pathology
- Molecular Psychiatry
- Molecular Therapy
- Nature
- Nature Biotechnology
- Nature Cell Biology
- Nature Chemical Biology
- Nature Genetics
- Nature Geoscience
- Nature Immunology
- Nature Materials
- Nature Medicine
- Nature Methods
- Nature Nanotechnology
- Nature Neuroscience
- Nature Photonics
- Nature Physics
- Nature Protocols
- Nature Reviews Cancer
- Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
- Nature Reviews Genetics
- Nature Reviews Immunology
- Nature Reviews Microbiology
- Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology
- Nature Reviews Neuroscience
- Nature Structural and Molecular Biology
- Neuropsychopharmacology
- Oncogene
- Spinal Cord
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
4/7/2009



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait