Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Apparel, Fashion, and Retail ...
![]()
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- CSA Illumina: Design and Applied Arts Index
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Business Searching Interface
- Business Source Premier
- Regional Business News
- Textile Technology Complete
- Emerald Library
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Business & Industry
- Business & Management Practices
- Business Dateline
- Lexis Nexis: Academic Business and News sections
- Newsbank NewsFile (newspapers)
- ProQuest + Instructions
- ABI/Inform
- Proquest Newspapers
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Art Full Text Flash Tutorial
- Business Full Text
- OmniFile
- Readers' Guide Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Advertising Age Today's top story, facts and features. Free registration; some articles free.
- Apparel News.net
- Cashak Magazine
- Chain Store Age.com The online service for retail executives.
- DNR (WWWD Men's) Men's wear news and trends.
- Elle Contents page and links.
- Fashion Click Online fashion and style magazine.
- Fashion Icon
- FN Footware News
- Hint Fashion Magazine
- Lucire
- Lumiere
- Marie Claire
- Network News Insights from the Network of Executive Women: Consumer Products and Retail industry.
- RFID Journal
- Stores Includes Top 100 retailers, Hot 100 retailers and 250 top global retailers lists.
- TeenVogue
- Trend Watching Monthly briefings.
- Vogue, GQ, Vanity Fair, Interiors, etc. 9 titles available from CondeNast.
- Women's Wear Daily (WWD).
- Yahoo!:Fasion and Beauty Magazines
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the Library.
- Allure
- Apparel
- California Apparel News
- Chain Store Age
- DNR
- Elle
- Glamour
- Harper's Bazaar
- Journal of Consumer Marketing
- Kids Today
- LDB Interior Textiles
- Retailtraffic
- Sales & Marketing Management
- Stores
- Textile
- Tobe Next
- Vogue
- WWD (Women's Wear Daily)
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
04/27/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait