Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- Alcohol Studies Database citations only from Rutgers University.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Alt-Health Watch
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (nursing)
- Consumer Health Complete
- ERIC (education) Flash Tutorial
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- Health Source Consumer
- Health Source Nursing/Academic
- Masterfile Premier
- Medline
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection: Basic
- PsycINFO Flash Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES Flash Tutorial
- PubMed Public version of Medline (medical materials)
- Web of Science: Social Science Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- General Sciences Full Text
- Omnifile
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Alcohol Alert
- Drug Policy Alliance Manhattan-based drug policy research institute featuring full-text articles
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library
- Addictive Behaviors
- Alcohol Research & Health or online Alcohol Research & Health
- Alcoholism: Clinical and Experimental Research
- Alcoholism Treatment Quarterly
- Behavioral Healthcare
- Journal of Drug Education
- Journal of Psychoactive Drugs
- Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs
- Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
1/2/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait