Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes and Databases
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- AltHealth Watch
- Consumer Health Complete
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source Consumer Edition
- Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
- Lexi-PALS Drug Guide
- PsycArticles Flash Tutorial
- PsycInfo Flash Tutorial
- Proquest: GenderWatch Instructions
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- OmniFile
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Ageline Produced by AARP; this is a free online database on aging; links to full text are included when possible
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Aging America Book review newsletter.
- Aging Today Bimontly newspaper from the American Society on Aging.
- Geriatrics and Aging
- HNRC: Scientific Publications Database Human Nutrition Research Center at Tufts University.
- Senior Journal Daily news for older adults.
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library. To check dates available, type the journal title into the Periodicals Holdings List:
- AARP Bulletin
- AARP, the Magazine
- American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine
- Educational Gerontology (Also in EBSCOhost with 18 month delay)
- Generations (Also in EBSCOhost Masterfile)
- Geriatrics (Also in EBSCOhost CINAHL)
- Gerontologist
- Human Development
- International Journal of Aging & Human Development
- Journal of Aging and Health
- Journal of Applied Gerontology
- Journal of Nutrition for the Elderly (Also in EBSCOhost CINAHL with 12 month delay)
- Journals of Gerontology : Series B is newest
- Psychology and Aging (Also in EBSCOhost PsycArticles)
- Research on Aging
- Topics in Geriatric Rehabilitation
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
3/29/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait