Skip to main content


Collections related to the leaders of the University of Wisconsin-Stout and its predecessors.

Stout's Leaders

Welcome to the guide to archival collections in the UW-Stout Archives related to the Chancellors and Presidents of the UW-Stout and its predecessors.

The leader of Stout retained the title of "President" until 1971, when the Wisconsin State Universities and the University of Wisconsin campuses merged to form the University of Wisconsin System in 1971. Following that merger, all Stout leaders bear the title, "Chancellor."

Biographical Information about Stout leaders prior to Charles W. Sorensen is available in the book "Interpreting the Dream: A Stout History," published for the university's centennial celebrated in 1991.